Site Announcements

OUR NEW FORUM/BLOG IS NOW ONLINE IN BETA VERSION, WITH A SCHEDULED PUBLIC RELEASE NEXT WEEK. ANYONE WITH A USER ID FROM THE CURRENT FORUM HAS ALREADY HAD THEIR USERNAME IMPORTED TO THE NEW FORUM THOUGH PASSWORDS WERE NOT IMPORTED SO YOU'LL NEED TO USE PASSWORD RECOVERY TO GET A NEW PASSWORD. WHILE THE NEW FORUM IS NOT YET COMPLETE WITH ALL OF IT'S FEATURES IT IS FUNCTIONAL AND WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU THERE.

fairwheelbikes.com/c/topics

SRAM Force/KCNC Pulley Question (noob)

Discussion on bikes, and whatever...

SRAM Force/KCNC Pulley Question (noob)

Postby rhane » Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:34 am

Total noob looking for help: SRAM Force uses an M4 upper and M5 lower pulley diameter, ok. KCNC pulleys are M5 diameter, ok. If I actually want things to fit nicely without having to rely on magic, what is the solution to replacing the stock SRAM Force RD pulleys with KCNC ones? Can I simply take off the Force pulleys, put the KCNC ones on in their place, and then use some type of shim over the SRAM Force stock pulley upper M4 bolt in order to have a proper fitting? If so, can someone hold my hand and show me where to look for this shim? Is this even the best solution in this situation? I have no machining tools/experience and truly no idea to even know what to look for. Thanks for the help.
rhane
Cat 5

Re: SRAM Force/KCNC Pulley Question (noob)

Postby Ypsylon » Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:08 am

That's not a noob question, actually. Or I am one myself.

Anyways, on the FWB shop site it says:

Compatible with all Campagnolo, SRAM (road and X-0), and Shimano rear derailleurs.

I'm figuring the way this works is that the pulley isn't actually held in place by the bolt itself, but clamped by the two cage plates.

I could be wrong though. :roll:

I've got a rival RD and KCNC pulley here, if I find the time I can try to check it out tonight, if nobody provides an answer before that.