Skip to content

short crank-arm length experience?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
    Participant

Madcow mentions the possible benefits of short crank-arm length in the latest Crank Review.

Is anyone out there using short cranks on your TT, road or mountain bikes? If so, have you noticed a difference, qualitatively or quantitatively, in your performance since moving from longer cranks? I’m interested in hearing from those out there that have given this a try.

Cheers!

Ringtail

Participant

I have been using 165mm cranks for the last 2 years and I love them. They don’t feel too different from the 170′s that I always used, whereas every time I have tried 172.5′s it felt like my legs were doing more work. The 165′s allow me to get a bit lower on the front of the bike without my thighs hitting my gut. It is easier to spin a higher cadence too. I won’t ever use any other crank length. I ride a 54 cm frame & am 5′-7″ tall.

Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?
    Keymaster

I used short cranks (170mm) on my TT bik. I noticed, SRM data, an improvement in my power. It’s hard to say if this was because of an increase in form though. So I compared 20 min efforts TT vs road bike and TT looked better compared to the road bike I didn’t change my cranks on. So… I went shorter there too. :) I’m 6’2″ on a 58cm frame.

I run the Facebook Page, Twitter Account and write code the rest of the day.
    Participant

I can’t do it. When I was a kid, I rode 165mm on the track and 172.5mm on the road. Now, I have to ride 172.5mm on the track, too. I tried to ride 170mm and 175mm, but it doesn’t work for me.

I have 170mm on my road bikes. I like it but I can’t say that I have any data that proves it works better for me. To be honest I’m not sure if would notice if someone switched them for 172.5.

Participant